Attendees: Alan, Max and I

Sun:

I had nearly been into this cave on several occasions, but this was the first time I actually entered.
We went to the deepest part of the cave (not really that far in) and continued exploring. It wasn’t a great deal of time later that I found a bloody leech – think it came off Max.
Not long later, I squeezed through a tight hole, which proceeded to open up until I was into a small waterway cut into dirt. Excited, I yelled out for the others to follow. I made my way down a narrow river bed, peering up a slope into the darkness… I couldn’t believe it! there was a large chamber at the top! My light wasn’t even lighting up the other side… I scurried up the slope and when Max got there he started dancing around in circles. “We’ve done it!”, he said, with a big grin on his face. We started peering into all the possible leads, joking that we should call the chamber “Where’s Alan”.
When Alan caught up, we began exploring… I felt lucky to have been the first person through considering the time others had put in. And decided I would help with the track marking and surveying (something I still can’t say I greatly enjoy) on a future trip.
The cave seemed to have developed on a kind of fault line. The main stream was on the right side of the cave but it eventually disappeared along the angled bedding plane. There where a few leads to the left, a lot of these had scratchings that might have been from extinct Thylathecines (as the marks appeared to cross over each other).
We passed some flow stone coming from one of the leads on the left. Further around I explored another lead and looked down on some great flow that turned out to be the upper section of what we’d seen earlier. There was a great viewing platform.

There where also a couple of climbs into upper sections, Max had a look up one of them reporting some aragonite, but the other was above the formation so couldn’t do it until we brought some sheets to prevent any damage to the glistering formation.

We slid back down the slope that would later be known as the “(Mad) Axeman Climb” and continued further into the cave. Max and Alan’s trained eyes soon noticed another stream coming in (we have to see where they meet later).

The next lead to the left involved a detrog through a slot to the left of some formation. Max went for a cursory look before we went to look where the stream was coming from. This turned out to me a small passage with a gravel bottom. I crawled in several meters before it became too tight to get my helmet through.
On the way back we noticed an extremely fragile helictite formation we must have nearly touched when we went past! It was quite amazing.

It was getting late at this point so and the adrenaline of the new discovery was finally subsiding. We headed out and all resolved to return on the next trip (quite some time away due to the Christmas holidays).

